a moment of introspection

im bathing my 5 year old son river a few nights ago, and in a silent moment he appears to be contemplating something. i dont say anything because i want him to develop his thoughts, and in a moment he looks up at me and says, “Daddy, is God done with us? is He done making us?” i just love him.

anyway, it really made me stop and think about how grateful i am that God is NOT done with me. i try to live my life every day to reflect and reveal God purposes in this world, and though i fall short, and Gods Grace is sufficient, humanness is no excuse and i strive for perfection, as that is what Jesus died for.

the glory of God is a heart fully alive.

cheers!

~ by paparazzipictures on January 29, 2008.

9 Responses to “a moment of introspection”

  1. Aw…

    My daughter, who just turned 4 last week, helps me see things in a whole new way.

  2. Aren’t our kids the most awesome and inspiring gifts God could have given us??! I have two girls (4 and 2) and they are quite simply my entire world. Thanks for sharing this…

  3. I am too bro…I am too bro. I’d be damned if He was.

  4. Love the last sentence. God is so awesome. Its so uplifting knowing that we have never fully arrived…especially as artists. Hope you, Des, and the kiddos have a terrific week-thanks for sharing.

  5. I wish we could all think with the innocence of children. Sometimes they are so wise. Thanks for sharing this story!

  6. great post man. “humanness is no excuse” that’s for sure. thanks for posting this!

  7. Amen.

  8. so insightful at that age, no? i love it.

  9. love you man. for who we try to be and how openly you share it. Keep it up… you make this brutha proud.

Leave a Reply

 
